You are here: HomeCountryPeopleAuthorsNnedi Okorafor

Nigeria Famous People


Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor 2018 67
Date of Birth:
Place of Birth:
Cincinnati, Ohio USA

Nnedimma Nkemdili "Nnedi" Okorafor formerly Okorafor-Mbachu; born April 8, 1974is a Nigerian-American author of Africanfuturism and Africanjujuism for children and adults. Her works include WHO FEARS DEATH (in development at HBO into a TV series), the BINTI novella trilogy, THE BOOK OF PHOENIX, the AKATA books and LAGOON.

She is the winner of Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, Locus and Lodestar Awards and her debut novel ZAHRAH THE WINDSEEKER won the prestigious Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature. Her next novel, IKENGA, will be in stores August 2020.

Nnedi has also written comics for Marvel, including BLACK PANTHER: LONG LIVE THE KING and WAKANDA FOREVER (featuring the Dora Milaje) and the SHURI series, an Africanfuturist comic series LAGUARDIA (from Dark Horse) and her short memoir BROKEN PLACES AND OUTER SPACES.

Nnedi is also co writer of the adaptation of Octavia Butler’s WILD SEED with Viola Davis and Kenyan film director Wanuri Kahiu. Nnedi holds a PhD (literature) and two MAs (journalism and literature). She lives with her daughter Anyaugo and family in Illinois. Nnedi’s books include:

Lagoon (a British Science Fiction Association Award finalist for Best Novel), adult

Who Fears Death (a World Fantasy Award winner for Best Novel), adult

The Book of Phoenix (an Arthur C. Clarke Award finalist), adult

The Binti Trilogy (A Hugo, Nebula and Nommo Award winner for Best Novella and parts 2 and 3 are Hugo Award nominees)

Chicken in the Kitchen (winner of an Africana Book Award), children

Kabu Kabu (A Publisher’s Weekly Best Book for Fall 2013), adult

The Akata series (Akata Witch and Akata Warrior, Akata Witch being an Best Book of the Year, Akata Warrior being a finalist for the World Science Fiction Society Award), young adult

Zahrah the Windseeker (winner of the Wole Soyinka Prize for African Literature)

The Shadow Speaker (a CBS Parallax Award winner), young adult

Long Juju Man (winner of the Macmillan Writers' Prize for Africa), middle grade

Broken Places & Outer Spaces


LaGuardia (Dark Horse)

Black Panther: Long Live the King (Marvel): (Hugo Nominee for Best Novella)

Shuri (Marvel): (A Nommo Award winner for Best Graphic Novel)

Wakanda Forever (Marvel)

Antar: the Black Knight (IDW/Mirage Films)


Ikenga (Penguin Books/Viking): Due out in August 2020

Remote Control ( Due out in January 2021


2005 – The Strange Horizons Reader's Choice Award for Stephen King's Super-Duper Magical Negroes

2007 – 2008 – Macmillan Writers' Prize for Africa for Long Juju Man

2008 – Carl Brandon Parallax Award for The Shadow Speaker

2008 – The Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature for Zahrah the Windseeker

2011 – The World Fantasy Award (Best Novel) for Who Fears Death

2012 – The 2012 Black Excellence Award for Outstanding Achievement in

Literature (Fiction) for Zahrah the Windseeker

2012 – Kindred Award for Who Fears Death

2015 – African Literary Person of the Year from Brittle Paper

2016 – The Nebula Award (Best Novella) for Binti

2016 – Children's Africana Book Award for Best Book for Young Readers for

Chicken in the Kitchen

2016 – The Hugo Award for Best Novella for Binti

2018 – The Locus Award for Best Young Adult Novel for Akata Warrior

2018 – The Lodestar Award for Akata Warrior

2020 - The Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story for LaGuardia