You are here: HomeCountryPeoplePoliticsAhmad Lawan

Nigeria Famous People


Ahmad Lawan


Ahmad Lawan 01
Date of Birth:
Place of Birth:

Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan GCON was born on January 12, 1959 in the north of British Nigeria.

He is a Nigerian politician and professor who served as the 14th president of the Nigerian Senate from 2019 to 2023. He represents the Yobe North Senatorial District in the Senate as a member of the All Progressives Congress.

Lawan was first elected to the House of Representatives in 1999 to represent the Bade/Jakusko Constituency as a member of the All Nigeria Peoples Party. Lawan was reelected in 2003 before successfully running to become Yobe North Senator in 2007.

After being reelected in 2011, 2015, and 2019 (as a member of the All Progressive Congress, successor to the ANPP), Lawan was elected the new Senate President with 79 votes cast to beat Senator Mohammed Ali Ndume with 28 votes after the inauguration of the 9th Nigeria National Assembly in 2019. It was his second attempt at becoming Senate President, with a notable failed run in 2015.

In 2015 Lawan ran for the senate president after APC zoned the position to north eastern Nigeria based on the party's power-sharing formula among the six geo-political zones at the time.

The zoning meant that only senators elected on the platform of the party (APC) from the six states in the north east could run for senate president. After consultations with critical political stakeholders and senators elected from the north east, Lawan was endorsed and presented to the national leadership of the party who anointed him as the candidate of the party for senate president.

After meeting with the Nigerian president Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday, 6 June 2019, Senator Danjuma Goje stepped down for Lawan from the Senate Presidency race.

On 11 June 2019, Lawan was elected and sworn in as the Senate President of the Nigerian 9th Assembly, after defeating his opponent, Senator Ali Ndume who is also an APC Senator. Lawan defeated his opponent with 79 votes to 28.