You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2021 12 14Article 506017

Politics of Tuesday, 14 December 2021


UPDATED: Buhari nominates new Minister

President Muhammadu Buhari President Muhammadu Buhari

Mr. Muazu Jaji Sambo from Taraba State has been nominated for the role of Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

This was made known by the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan.

In a letter from President Buhari, Ahmed Lawan urged the Senate to screen and confirm the nominee for an appointment at plenary on Tuesday morning.

The president also nominated six National Commissioners and one Resident Electoral Commissioner for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The newly nominated candidates for confirmation by the Senate as National Commissioners of INEC include, Malam Mohammed Haruna (Niger State) North Central; Mrs May Agbamuche Mbu – Delta State; Okeagu Kenneth Nnamdi – Abia State, South East; Maj. Gen. A.B. Alkali (retd.) – Adamawa State, North East; Engr. Prof. Rada H. Gumus – Bayelsa State, South South, and Mr. Sam Olumeku – Ondo State, South West, Nations reports.

Mr. Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye from Ondo State, (South West) was named Resident Electoral Commissioner.

Those nominated as Commissioners for the National Population Commission (NPC), include: Engr Benedict Opong – Akwa Ibom State; Mrs Gloria Izofor Mni – Bayelsa state, Barr. Mrs Patricia O. Iyayan Kuchi – Benue State, Dr. Bala Haliru, Kebbi State and Dr Iyatayo Oyetunbi, Oyo State.