You are here: HomeNewsPolitics2023 07 21Article 674801

Politics of Friday, 21 July 2023


Full list of judges presiding over presidential election petition tribunal and their states of origin

Election Petition Tribunal Election Petition Tribunal

The Presidential Election Petitions Tribunal in Abuja commenced pre-hearing on Monday, May 8, for the petitions challenging the outcome of the February 25th presidential election.

The legal battle could potentially change the course of the election dispute.

The court pre-hearing resumed at about 9:15 am with an opening remark by the Presiding Justice, Haruna Tsammani, who leads a five-man panel of Justices.

Here is a full list of the judges:

1. Justice Haruna Tsammani

2. Justice Stephen Adah

3. Justice Monsurat Bolaji-Yusuf

4. Justice Boloukuoromo Moses Ugo

5. Justice Abbah Mohammed

Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani

Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani, the chairman of the panel, was educated at LEA Primary School, Tarawa Balewa, and Government Secondary School, Maiduguri.

He went on to study law at Ahmadu Bello University in Zaria and was called to the bar in 1983.

In his quest for more knowledge, he attended the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies at UNILAG, Abubakar Tarawa Balewa University, and the University of Jos.

Tsammani was first appointed as a judge of the Bauchi state High Court in 1998, where he served for 12 years before being appointed to the Court of Appeal.

Justice Stephen Adah Justice

Stephen Adah was born on 30 July 1957 in Dekina, Kogi state. He was first appointed as a judge of the Appeal Court in November 2012.

Young Adah had his primary education in four schools, from 1964. He proceeded to St. Peters College, also in Idah for his secondary education, from 1971 to 1975.

After a year at Ilorin Teachers College, he went to School of Basic Studies at Ugbokolo for his A-Level and then Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria to read law. He graduated in 1981 and was called to the bar in 1982.

He was appointed as a judge of the Federal High Court in 1998.

Justice Monsurat Bolaji-Yusuf

Justice Monsurat Bolaji-Yusuf was born in Oyo on 7 August 1959. After her primary education, she went to Iranian Grammar School, also in Oyo, where she spent just one session.

She then left for Bremen Asikuma Secondary School, Central Region of Ghana, where she finished her education in 1976.

In 1979, she was admitted to read law at Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile-Ife. She completed the programme in 1983 and was called to the bar in 1984.

Justice Monsurat joined the bench of Oyo state in January 1997. In March 2014, she was appointed to the Court of Appeal.

Justice Boloukuoromo Moses Ugo

Justice Boloukuoromo Moses Ugo was born on 7 June 1965 in Kolokuma Bayelsa state.

He had his primary education at State School, Igbedi and secondary at Government Secondary School, Asoama, Sabagreia, all in Bayelsa.

Ugo read law at the University of Calabar between 1985 and 1989. He was called to the bar in 1990.

He was appointed to Bayelsa High Court in 2006 and became a judge of the Appeal Court eight years later.

Justice Abbah Mohammed

Justice Abba Bello Mohammed was born on 19 February 1961. He is from Kano State.

He was educated at Tudor Wada Primary School( 1967-1974) and Government Secondary School Dambatta(1974-1979).

He also attended the School of Preliminary Studies(1979-81), Institute of Admin, A.B.U. Zaria(1981-1984).

He was called to the bar in 1985 and appointed a judge of the High Court of FCT in 2010.

Justice Mohammed was appointed judge of the Appeal Court in June 2021 from the FCT High Court.