You are here: HomeCountryGeographyLegislature

For many who didn’t know, Nigeria is bordered by Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the east, and Benin in the west. Before it gained independence in 1960, the modern state of Nigeria traces its roots from British colonial rule which began in the 19th century. Its present territorial shape can be traced back to the merging of the Southern Nigeria and Northern Nigeria Protectorate in 1914 by Lord Frederick Lugard