You are here: HomeEntertainment2022 07 29Article 576344

Entertainment of Friday, 29 July 2022


Apple Music announces Majeeed as its ‘Up Next’ artiste

Afrobeats singer-songwriter, Majeeed Afrobeats singer-songwriter, Majeeed

Apple Music has announced the latest featured artiste in its ‘Up Next’ artiste development programme in Nigeria, is Afrobeats singer-songwriter, Majeeed (real name Ekeh Chiaka Joseph).

“My music is an expression of my reality and experiences of many topics that are not discussed enough. Being Up Next on Apple Music is a dream come true and has given me the zeal and opportunity to strive even further because now I know a lot of people are listening and connecting to my story,” he tells Apple Music.

Majeeed’s sound is rooted in Afrobeats and speaks frankly about the realities of day-to-day life, intended to motivate, inspire and heal. Having established himself as a prolific songwriter, working with lauded artists like Tiwa Savage, Seyi Shay and Zuchu, Majeeed independently released his breakthrough single “TIME” (2021) to much acclaim.

His debut EP, Bitter Sweet (2022), released through Dream Empire Music and available to stream on Apple Music, is a six-track exploration of a toxic relationship that relays universal themes of disconnection and misunderstandings, spearheaded by the dancefloor-rooted lead single “Yawa No Dey End”.

As the newest ‘Up Next’ act to be spotlighted in Nigeria, Majeeed will be featured across Apple Music’s Nigeria’s Up Next playlist. The curated ‘Up Next’ playlist features a dynamic class of new and emerging artistes, thoughtfully hand-picked by Apple Music editors from around the world. The playlist is genre agnostic and represents a line-up of artists our global editors are passionate about and eager to expose to a larger audience.

Majeeed joins Khaid, Ninety, Young Jonn, T.I Blaze, Browny Pondis, Ajebo Hustlers, Jaido P, Wavy The Creator and SGaWD as Apple Music’s growing stable of Up Next Artists from Nigeria.

The vast global ‘Up Next’ roster of past talent includes Grammy-nominated and critically lauded talent like 6lack, Daniel Caesar, H.E.R., Greta Van Fleet, Khalid, Amy Shark, Billie Eilish, Sabrina Claudio, Sigrid, Mr Eazi, Stefflon Don, Bad Bunny, Juice WLRD, Bazzi, Jax Jones, NCT 127, Summer Walker, Tierra Whack, Dean Lewis, Pink Sweat$, Koffee, Megan Thee Stallion, Burna Boy, Clairo, Lunay, Jessie Reyez, Orville Peck, Victoria Monét, Ingrid Andress, Conan Gray, Don Toliver, Rema, BENEE, Holly Humberstone, Natanael Cano, Giveon, beabadoobee, Arlo Parks, Tate McRae, Foushee and Tems.