You are here: HomeCountryHome

The Republic of Nigeria

The Republic of Nigeria is commonly referred to as the Giant of Africa by many because it's rich oil wealth. Located in the West of Africa, Nigeria is the most populous country on the continent with more than 200 million people. Nigeria also has the largest youth population in the world after India and China.

A sovereign nation, Nigeria comprises 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, where the capital is located. Nigeria is home to some of the most successful people in the world. The country is also home to a number of ancient and indigenous pre-colonial states and kingdoms.

For many who didn’t know, Nigeria is bordered by Niger in the north, Chad in the northeast, Cameroon in the east, and Benin in the west. Before it gained independence in 1960, the modern state of Nigeria traces its roots from British colonial rule which began in the 19th century. Its present territorial shape can be traced back to the merging of the Southern Nigeria and Northern Nigeria Protectorate in 1914 by Lord Frederick Lugard.

Nigeria has more than 300 ethic groupings while the seat of government is at Osu Castle. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in both the government and Parliament. The Judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

Nigeria is a member of the MINT group of countries, which are widely seen as the globe's next "BRIC-like" economies. It is also listed among the "Next Eleven" economies set to become among the biggest in the world. Nigeria is a founding member of the African Union and a member of many other international organizations, including the United Nations, the Commonwealth of Nations, the ECOWAS, and OPEC.

It has several popular languages including the dominant three, Yoruba, Igbo, and Hausa.

Executive Branch

The head of the executive branch is the President, who has the power to form a government. These appointments are, however, done subject to advise and consent of the National House of Assembly. 

At the State level, the head of the executive is called the Governor, who has the power to appoint people to the State Executive Council, subject to the advice and consent of the State House of Assembly (Legislature). The head of a ministry at the State level is called a commissioner, who is assisted by a permanent secretary, who is also a senior civil servant of the State.

Legislative Branch

The Legislative arm of government is made up of two chambers in the Federal level. These chambers are the Senate and the House of Representatives. Currently, the President of the Senate is Ahmed Lawan while the Speaker of the House of Assembly is  Femi Gbajabiamila. They serve for four terms.

The legislative arm at the state level unicameral the number of its members equal to three times the number of legislators it has in the Federal House of Representatives. It has the power to legislate on matters on the concurrent list.

Judicial Branch

The judicial branch of government serves as an independent executive branch. iIt is the umbrella that houses the Court of Appeals, the High Courts, and other trial courts such  as the Magistrates’, Customary, Sharia and other specialized courts.

It doesn’t report to the executive branch. At the federal level is headed by the Chief Justice of Nigeria while Chief Justice of the State leads at the state level. The state governor appoints a judge subject to approval from the State House of Assembly