You are here: HomeBusiness2022 08 24Article 582680

Business News of Wednesday, 24 August 2022


Ginger farmers commit to quality production, export

Ginger Ginger

The National Ginger Association of Nigeria (NGAN) has pledged to ensure that Nigeria’s comparative advantage in ginger receives a boost through quality export in the global market.

The New President of NGAN, Gagarin Madaki who spoke after taking the oath of office, pledged to reinvigorate the affairs of the association and also work hard to ensure that members enjoy their right of place in Nigeria and overseas.

He then enjoined members to engage in quality production of ginger and ensure that Nigeria’s comparative advantage in the production of the commodity receives a boost by producing and exporting quality produce as well as leveraging international best practices.

Madaki said: “We will hit the ground running by encouraging our farmers to start producing based on international best practices which are making our products to be rejected in the international markets.

“We have issues of poor post-harvest handling, use of inorganic chemicals among others. We want to improve the yields the farmers get. We also want to move from conventional weighing per bag to per kilogram because a lot of sharp practices happen both ways between farmers and buyers”.

“These are important measures we need to put in place because when there is transparency in commodity trading, it will attract a lot of investors and keep others in the value chain comfortable.”

“Coincidentally, I am the first and only indigene that has used the dry port in the last five years to export ginger. The problem is not from the dry port here but the congestion at the other end. The process here is very smooth and I encourage people to use it. It is a one-stop shop – customs, payment, etc,” he said.

Meanwhile, the Ginger farmers from across the federation converged on Kaduna recently where they elected a new executive council to run the association affairs for the next five years.

Those who were elected included the National President, Gagarin Madaki, Mr. Isaac Kure and Emmanuel Nehemiah as Deputy National President and National Secretary General, respectively, Mrs. Elizabeth Jibji Bukar as National Vice President (North East) and Mr. Tekaa Luga as National Vice President (North Central).