You are here: HomeEntertainmentMusic2020 08 27Article 373345

Music of Thursday, 27 August 2020


Eedris Abdulkareem set to release sixth album

Veteran Nigerian singer, Eedris Abdulkareem is set to release his sixth album after taking a 10-years hiatus. The 24 tracker album is titled, Nothing But The Truth.

The rapper gave some fans and celebrity colleagues a first-hand introduction to the album when he organized a listening party at the Santos Hotels, Lagos.

This is his first album in decades after his previous five. They include: P.A.S.S (2002), Mr. Lecturer (2002), Jaga Jaga (2004), Letter to Mr. President (2005), King Is Back (2007) and Unfinished Business (2010).

Eedris Abdulkareem is known for his outspoken nature. Speaking at the event, he said that the album will address some issues of interest plaguing the Nigerian society.

The singer said the album comprises of thought-provoking songs covering different topical issues and commentaries on the problems bedeviling the country.

Sound Sultan, Rugged Man, African China, Zlatan, Olamide, and Myke Pam will feature in the album.

Explaining the inspiration behind the album, the rapper said: “Nothing But The Truth is vintage Eedris Abdulkareem and promises to set the records straight and right the lyrical wrongs in the Nigerian music industry as a collector’s item. It will be backed with classy videos from Frizzle & Brizzle Visuals.”

The album is said to be slated for release on August 31, and it will be released on Eedris’ label, Lakreem Entertainment Inc.

Back in 2018, Eedris released a single titled ‘Letter To Obasanjo’, where he claimed the ex-president was the “problem of Nigeria”, and has remained at the forefront of fighting societal ills through his music.