You are here: HomeAfrica2023 03 28Article 641336

Africa News of Tuesday, 28 March 2023


Angélique Kidjo named among Polar Music Prize winners

Angélique Kidjo Angélique Kidjo

rd-winnerImage caption: Angélique Kidjo is a five-time Grammy Award-winner
The recipients of this year's Polar Music Prize, widely regarded as industry's equivalent of a Nobel prize, have just been announced.

The founder of Island Records, Chris Blackwell, who is credited with bringing Bob Marley to a global audience, has been awarded.

The other winners are the Beninois singer, Angélique Kidjo, and the Estonian composer Arvo Part, who last year regained the title of the most performed living composer.

The award celebrates the three laureates for their achievements in music. It's the third time in the history of the award that three laureates have won.

Sir Paul McCartney, Bob Dylan and Dizzy Gillespie have all won in the past.

The award was created by Abba’s manager, Stig Anderson.