You are here: HomeSports2023 03 04Article 634427

Sports News of Saturday, 4 March 2023


U-23 AFCON: Coach Salisu names 30-man squad to face Guinea

File image File image

The team has competed four times in the Olympics, winning gold in 1996, silver in 2008, and bronze in 2016.

Head coach of the Olympic Eagles, Salisu Yusuf, has called up 30 players to camp ahead of their African Cup of Nations qualifying fixture against Guinea.

The dream squad VII were halted to a 1-1 tie by Tanzania in Dar es Salaam, but they were able to advance to the next round of qualifiers, where they would play West African neighbours, with a 2-nil victory at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Ibadan.

Four goalkeepers, eight defenders, ten midfielders, and eight attackers make up the majority of the 30-man squad that the 61-year-old gaffer has gathered to take against Guinea.

Nigeria will host the opening leg at Adamasingba Stadium on March 22, 2023, before travelling to Guinea for the reverse fixture.

Nigeria versus Guinea match’s overall winner will earn a spot in the 2023 Africa U-23 Cup of Nations competition. The Africa U-23 Cup of Nations event will serve as a qualification process for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

All the invited Nigerian players are required to arrive at the Chida Hotel in Abuja on Friday, March 3, 2023, in order to kick off preparations.

The full squad list:

Goalkeepers: John Amah (Sunshine Stars); Nurudeen Badmus (Dakkada FC); Ifeanyi Nchekwube (Akwa United); Oriya Joseph (Lobi Stars)

Defenders: Christopher Nwaeze (Plateau United); Desmond Ojietefian (Shooting Stars); Okechukwu Chikason (Enyimba FC); Anthony Anieke (Akwa United); Samuel Olamilekan (Niger Tornadoes); Benjamin Tanimu (Bendel Insurance); Evans Ogbonda (Port Harcourt City); Umar Ahmed Farouk (Gombe United)

Midfielders: Daniel Wotlai (Abia Warriors); Akanni Qudus (Remo Stars); Auwalu Naziru (Rangers Int’l); Chibuike Nwaiwu (Enyimba FC); Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance); Taofeek Malomo (Shooting Stars); Samuel Chisom (Kwara United); Samaila Sarki (Bendel Insurance); Kumaga Suur (Lobi Stars); Inye Green (Ibani United)

Forwards: Munir Idris (Niger Tornadoes); Ahmed Jimoh (Kwara United); Ezekiel Edidiong (Remo Stars); Ifeanyi Ogba (Akwa United); Umar Ibrahim (El-Kanemi Warriors); Alkasin Deji Yusuf (Dakkada FC); Mojereola Suleiman (Sunshine Stars); Akile Monday (Lobi Stars)