You are here: HomeSports2022 05 10Article 552971

Sports News of Tuesday, 10 May 2022


Super Eagles 30-man squad for Ecuador, Mexico Friendlies released

Super Eagles of Nigeria Super Eagles of Nigeria

Many new entrants have been invited to the Super Eagles ahead of friendly games against Ecuador and Mexico

The Nigeria Football Federation has released a 30-man squad for the friendlies against the South American and North American teams.

Napoli forward, Victor Osimhen has not been invited.

There were many new faces in the team including 8 NPFL players.

Goalkeeper, Maduka Okoye has made a return to the team while Alex Iwobi and Cyriel Dessers are also back.

Captain Ahmed Musa and his Vice captain William Troost-Ekong are also in the squad amongst other regular suspects.

It will be the first time the Super Eagles will regroup for a run of games after an unfortunate miss on the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

See the full squad below;

Goalkeepers: Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands); Adewale Adeyinka (Akwa United); Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Isa Ali (Remo Stars); Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ibrahim Buhari (Plateau United)

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Chiamaka Madu (Rivers United); Babatunde Afeez Nosiru (Kwara United); Azubuike Okechukwu (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey); Samson Tijani (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria); Alhassan Yusuf (Royal Antwerp FC, Belgium)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England); Cyriel Dessers (Feyenoord FC, The Netherlands); Victor Mbaoma (Enyimba FC); Ishaq Rafiu (Rivers United)

See post below