You are here: HomeSports2020 07 24Article 366316

Sports News of Friday, 24 July 2020


Henderson beats De Bruyne, Rashford to FWA Footballer of the Year

Liverpool skipper Jordan Henderson has won the Football Writers' Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year for the 2019/20 Premier League season.

Henderson pipped Manchester City's Kevin De Bruyne and Manchester United's Marcus Rashford, as well as team-mates Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane, to claim the honour.

Having led Liverpool to their first ever PL trophy in 3o years, Henderson won the honour with more than a quarter of the votes.

Reflecting on his win, Henderson said: "I'd like to say how appreciative I am of the support of those who voted for me and the Football Writers' Association in general.

"You only have to look at the past winners of it, a number of whom I've been blessed to play with here at Liverpool, like Stevie (Gerrard), Luis (Suarez) and Mo (Salah) to know how prestigious it is.

"But as grateful as I am I don't feel like I can accept this on my own.

"I don't feel like anything I've achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own.

"I owe a lot to so many different people - but none more so than my current team-mates - who have just been incredible and deserve this every bit as much as I do.

"We've only achieved what we've achieved because every single member of our squad has been brilliant. And not just in matches. Not just in producing the moments that make the headlines and the back pages but every day in training."

Join our Newsletter