You are here: HomeSports2022 04 26Article 548729

Soccer News of Tuesday, 26 April 2022


AWCON draw procedure reveals who Nigeria avoids in group stage

The Super Falcons The Super Falcons

Nigeria will avoid hosts Morocco and Cameroon in the Group phase of the 2022 Africa Women Cup of Nation (AWCON).

The draw procedure for this year’s AWCON was made public by the CAF on Monday evening ahead of the Friday April 29th draw date.

According to the predetermined positions as per the regulations, Morocco as hosts are in A1, Cameroon in B (Second best ranked team), Nigeria are C1 (Champions) and other qualified teams occupies Pot 1.

The draw procedure will be used to determine the fate of the 12 countries that have qualified for the event.

Draw Procedure: Three additional pots will be used: A, B, C. Each pot will contain three (3) balls.

The first ball drawn from Pot 1 will go to group A, a ball will drawn from Pot A to determine its position (A2, A3, A4) in the group.

The second ball drawn from Pot 1 will go to group B, a ball will drawn from Pot B to determine its position (B2, B3, B4) in the group.

The third ball drawn from Pot 1 will go to group C, a ball will drawn from Pot C to determine its position (C2, C3, C4) in the group.

This procedure will be repeated for all the remaining teams in Pot 1.

CAF will hold the draw ceremony at the Mohamed VI Complex in Rabat, Morocco on Friday 29 April 2022 at 20:30 GMT.

12 teams will compete at the 2022 AWCON; Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Morocco (hosts), Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zambia.