You are here: HomeNews2023 03 03Article 634274

General News of Friday, 3 March 2023


'You endorsed illegality' - Knocks presidential candidate as he accepts defeat, congratulates Tinubu

Bola Tinubu with his certificate of return Bola Tinubu with his certificate of return

Social media users have reacted to a congratulatory message sent by the presidential candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Adewole Adebayo Esq to president-elect Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Adebayo in a tweet congratulated the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as he wished him "God's guidance and wisdom to work for ordinary Nigerians"

In the series of tweets, he said: "I congratulate @officialABAT on his declaration by
@inecnigeria as President-Elect of Nigeria. I wish him God's guidance and wisdom to work for ordinary Nigerians. Poverty and Insecurity must be tackled within Chapter 2 of the Constitution. Nigeria deserves better. Be honest, firm Victory for the politician is sweet on election night but what is in it for the people? Victory for the people is when good governance delivers accountability, justice and fairness in socioeconomic well-being of the common people.

@OfficialAPCNg can't repeat hypocrisy and deceit. I also congratulate @atiku, @PeterObi and other candidates for their massive victories and contributions to democratic process. I respect the right of every candidate and party to lawful protest and legal redress. Whatever is learnt from such a challenge will improve justice.

Mr Tinubu defeated 17 other candidates who took part in the election. He scored a total of 8,794,726 votes, the highest of all the candidates, thus meeting the first constitutional requirement to be declared the winner.

He also scored over 25 percent of the votes cast in 30 states, more than the 24 states constitutionally required.

INEC Chairman Mahmood Yakubu, who announced the final results in the early hours of Wednesday in Abuja, said Atiku Abubakar of the PDP came second in the election.

Atiku polled a total of 6,984,520 votes in the election.

Peter Obi of the Labour Party came third in the election with a total of 6,101,533 votes while Rabiu Kwankwaso of the NNPP came fourth with 1,496,687 votes.