You are here: HomeNews2022 06 10Article 562382

General News of Friday, 10 June 2022


We are blood brothers - Tinubu says as he pays surprise visit to Osinbajo

Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Yemi Osinbajo Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Yemi Osinbajo

The elected presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Ahmed Tinubu says his relationship with Yemi Osinbajo is like that of a "blood brother" as he paid Vice President a surprise visit at the state house, Abuja on Thursday night, June 9.

The visit comes days after both men contested the presidential primaries of the ruling party, an election the former Lagos governor won by a landslide.

Against the thoughts of many who believed Osinbajo's decision would create a rift between him and his benefactor, Tinubu surprised many when after he visited President Buhari at the statehouse, stopped by to see Osinbajo.

Read more: 'I am proud of you Omoluabi' - Yemi Osinbajo's wife hails him

A source who spoke to Premium Times, said the APC Presidential flagbearer said Osinbajo and himself are more like blood brothers.

"We were just sitting around when the vice president was informed that Asiwaju has arrived.

Asiwaju said he is surprised that people assume the presidential contest will create a wedge between him and the vice president. He told us that they have come a long way and they are like blood brothers now.

He said what happened was just democracy in action and there was nothing wrong with it,” the source said.

Tinubu was accompanied on the visit by Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu and some other politicians.

Osinbajo's attempt to continue the legacy of his principal, President Muhammadu Buhari was truncated after he fell to defeat at the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential primaries.

He scored 235 votes behind Minister of Transport, Rotimi Amaechi.

The National Leader of the party, Bola Ahmed Tinubu who has been declared the winner by several media platforms is rumored to have scored more than 1,000 votes.

David Umahi scored 38 votes, Senator Ahmed Sani Yerima scored 4 votes, Emeka Nwajiuba scored 1 vote, Yemi Osinbajo scored 235 votes, and Amaechi scored 316 votes, Rochas Okorocha scored 0 votes, Yahaya Bello scored 47 votes and Jack-Rich scored 0.

The contest was tilted in favor of the former Lagos governor following the resignation of seven aspirants. They include Governors Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti) and Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Senators Ibikunle Amosun, Ajayi Boroffice, former Speaker Dimeji Bankole and the only female aspirant Mrs. Uju Kennedy Ohaneye.

Join our Newsletter!