You are here: HomeNews2023 06 21Article 666098

Soccer News of Wednesday, 21 June 2023


Updated: 15 teams qualify for AFCON 2023

AFCON trophy AFCON trophy

At least 15 African countries have booked their place for the next edition of the African Cup of Nations tournament.

Guinea have become the latest team to secure qualification to the AFCON finals following Ethiopia's goalless draw with Malawi on Tuesday, June 20.

The draw meant that both teams have been eliminated from the qualifiers while Guinea joined the Pharaohs of Egypt as the two teams to qualify from Group D.

Elsewhere, Mauritania staged a remarkable comeback by jumping from the bottom to the top in Group I after thrashing Sudan 3-0.

The war-torn nation, Sudan hosted Mauritania in Agadir, Morocco on Tuesday.

Guinea have joined the likes of Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tunisia and Zambia as the 15 qualified teams for next year's competition.