You are here: HomeNews2023 06 13Article 663575

General News of Tuesday, 13 June 2023


Tajudeen Abass elected Speaker of 10th Reps

Dr. Abass Dr. Abass

A member of the House of Representatives from Zaria Federal Constituency in Kaduna State, Tajudeen Abbas has emerged as Speaker of the House of Representatives.

The anointed candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) had 353 votes.

Dr. Tajudeen defeated Idris Wase and Aminu Jaji in a voice vote on Tuesday at the National Assembly Complex in Abuja.

Jaji and Wase polled three votes each.

Abbas, who has been a member of the House since 2011, was subsequently sworn in as the new Speaker of the House of Representatives succeeding Femi Gbajabiamila who is now the Chief of Staff to President Bola Tinubu.

Meanwhile, a member representing Bende Federal Constituency in Abia State, Benjamin Kalu emerged the Deputy Speaker of the House. He emerged unopposed and succeeds Deputy Speaker of the House for the 9th National Assembly, Wase.

Also, on Tuesday, Senator Godswill Akpabio was elected the Senate President after he defeated Senator Abdul’aziz Yari while Senator Jibrin Barau, who represents Kano North Senatorial District, emerged unopposed as Senate Deputy President, succeeding Ovie Omo-Agege.