You are here: HomeNews2022 12 28Article 616505

Soccer News of Wednesday, 28 December 2022


Szymon Marciniak: World Cup final referee admits to making honest mistake

Szymon Marciniak Szymon Marciniak

Szymon Marciniak, the World Cup final referee, has admitted to a mistake he committed during the Grand Finale between Argentina and France.

Marciniak was singled out for praise by most fans and experts including the Chairman of the FIFA referees committee Pierluigi Collina for his inch-perfect calls.

Despite the ongoing rave about his diligence in unquestionably the best-ever final in World Cup history, Marciniak was quick to point out his own flaw.

"Of course, there were mistakes in this final," the 41-year-old Polish referee told Sport.PL.

He continued: "I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.

"I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card. "It's hard.

In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes."

It was not allowing the advantage to be played when Argentina left-back Marcos Acuna committed a foul, per SportBIBLE.

France were on the attack and in hindsight, referee Marcinak thinks allowing play to continue would have been the better option.

Szymon Marciniak has finally broken his silence on claims that Lionel Messi's extra-time goal in the World Cup final should have been disallowed.

Marciniak, who has been lauded by many for his near-perfect decisions in the finals of the World Cup, was accused of incompetence by the French media in the epic encounter between Argentina and France.

According to French media, Messi's extra-time goal shouldn't have stood due to the encroachment of Argentina substitutes on the pitch.