You are here: HomeNews2023 01 25Article 624209

General News of Wednesday, 25 January 2023


States reject Local Government autonomy

Nigerian Senate Nigerian Senate

The State House of Assembly has rejected a bill seeking financial and legislative autonomy for local governments.

According to report, 35 constitution amendment bills have been passed by the state.

This was made known by the national assembly on Tuesday, January 24.

Opeyemi Bamidele, a federal lawmaker from Ekiti who presented the report on the bills, noted that 35 bills have been considered by 27 state houses of assembly.

States which have passed a resolution on the bills include Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Imo, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kogi, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Rivers, and Yobe.

Other house of assemblies who are yet to send their reports on the bills and have been asked to forward their resolutions include; Gombe, Jigawa, Kebbi, Kwara, Oyo, Plateau, Sokoto, Taraba, and Zamfara.

The 35 constitution amendment bills currently awaits the President, Muhammadu Buhari's consent.

This development was reached as a result of the adoption of a motion by Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege and 66 other lawmakers.