You are here: HomeNews2023 06 07Article 661607

Africa News of Wednesday, 7 June 2023


Sierra Leone, Algeria elected to UN Security Council

Image used to illustrate story Image used to illustrate story

Sierra Leone and Algeria have been elected non-permanent members of the UN Security Council representing Africa.

Sierra Leonean President Julius Maada Bio termed the election “a generational accomplishment” .

He said it “represented our unique success as a democratic and peaceful country of resilience” that had successfully transitioned from war to peace.

Guyana, Republic of Korea and Slovenia were also elected following a vote by the General Assembly on Tuesday.

The five will join Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland as non-permanent members of the Council.

The new members will take up their seats on 1 January and will serve until 31 December 2025.

The Security Council is composed of 15 countries, five of which - China, France, Russia, the UK and the US – are permanent members with a right to veto any resolution.