You are here: HomeNews2023 03 18Article 638234

General News of Saturday, 18 March 2023


Seyi Makinde seeks re-election, see full list of guber candidate

Oyo governor, Seyi Makinde Oyo governor, Seyi Makinde

Oyo State governor, Seyi Makinde is seeking re-election for a second term.

32 members of the state House of Assembly will also be elected.

Makinde will hope to use the power of incumbency to defeat the other 18 gubernatorial candidates standing for the election.

The APC is represented by Teslim Folarin and Adebayo Adelabu of Accord.

Others are Ajekiigbe Lateef of AA, Akinwale Tayo Tawfiq of LP, Popoola Olukayode of the NNPP, Okedara Mojeed of AAC and Ajadi Bamidele of ADC.

The rest are Yusuf Akim of ADP; Adeshina Adewale of APGA; Adeniran Adeyemi of APM; Yinusa Kazeem of AAP; Okunade Tunde of BP, Adegboyega Raymond of NRM, Micheal Lana of SDP and Euba Aduragbemi of YPP.

There are 2,305,903 registered voters who have collected their Permanent Voter’s Card in the state.

The election would be held in 6,390 polling units across the state.

About fifteen (15) thousand security agents have been deployed for the elections.