You are here: HomeNews2021 10 14Article 486556

General News of Thursday, 14 October 2021


Senate: Lawan reshuffles Committees’ leadership

Senate President, Ahmed Lawan Senate President, Ahmed Lawan

Senate President, Ahmed Lawan has reshuffled the leadership and membership of some standing and special committees of the Senate.

According to Sunnewsonline, those to serve as chairmen include Sahabi Alhaji Ya’u – Committee on National Population and National Identity; Adetokunbo Abiru – Committee on Industry; Saidu Alkali – Committee on Trade and Investments; Kabiru Barkiya – Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Affairs.

Those selected as deputies and members are Seriake Dickson – Committee on Interior; and member, Committee on Appropriations; Biodun Olujimi – member, Committee on Appropriations; Tolu Odebiyi – vice chairman, Committee on Marine Transport; Lekan Mustapha – vice chairman, INEC; Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe – vice chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs, Sunnewsonline reports.

Others are Moses Cleopas – vice-chairman, National Planning and Economic Affairs; Frank Ibezim Chukwuma – vice-chairman, Committee on Industry; Nora Ladi Daduut – vice-chairman, Committee on Culture and Tourism; and Degi-Biobarakuma Eremieyo Degi – member, Committee on Appropriation.

The announcement was made moments before the upper chamber adjourned the plenary on Wednesday, October 13, 2021.

Mr. Lawan called on the newly-appointed chairmen and deputies to commence their duties immediately including the 2022 budget.

“We expect that these Chairmen and Vice-Chairman would start their work immediately, especially to work on the budget defense. We wish them like all of us, the best of tenure and steady hands on their work” he said.

Join our Newsletter!