You are here: HomeNews2023 09 28Article 696017

General News of Thursday, 28 September 2023


National Heroes: List of 11 Nigerians Tinubu will honour with special awards on Independence Day

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu President Bola Ahmed Tinubu

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu will honour eleven Nigerians with citizenship and patriots awards ahead of the country’s 63rd Independence Day celebration.

As reported by The Nation, the award is part of the National Orientation Agency (NOA)’s efforts to promote civic education in Nigeria.

The director general of the National Orientation Agency, Dr. Garba Abari, disclosed this while addressing the media.

The award ceremony is scheduled for Thursday, October 5.

Tinubu to honour Akinkunmi, 10 others with special awards

The awardees are:

1. Nigerian flag designer, late Pa Taiwo Micheal Akinkunmi

2. Naval Rating, Salaudeen Akano, who hoisted the Nigerian flag at midnight to mark the independence of Nigeria in 1960

3. Late Commander Onwurah Zonyanuno Chiazor, the commandant under whose order Naval Rating Salaudeen hoisted the flag.

4. John A. Ilechukwu,

5. Eme Etim Akpan,

6. B.A. Ogunnaike,

7. Sota Omoigui P. O. Aderibigbe (all contributed to the lyrics of the country’s National Anthem)

8. Late Benedict E. Odiase - directed the Nigerian Police Band

9. Late (Mrs.) Felicia Adebola Adedoyin - the woman who created the National Pledge

10. Adewusi (Adedoyin's friend who introduced her to the president).

Abari further stated that September 16 every year has been set aside as National Symbols Day and September 30 as Citizens and Patriots Day.