You are here: HomeNews2023 02 26Article 633038

General News of Sunday, 26 February 2023


Leading PDP member 'accidentally' killed by soldier in Ondo

Akinnaso was killed accidentally, the reports have said (File photo) Akinnaso was killed accidentally, the reports have said (File photo)

The killing of Akinlabi Akinnaso, a member of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Idanre Local Government Area of Ondo State, has been reported by

The report added that Akinnaso, popularly-known as ‘Oluomo’ died after he was ‘accidentally hit’ by a bullet fired by a soldier.

The soldier is also said to have been deployed to maintain security at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Collation Centre, Owena/Ayetoro in Idanre town.

Daily Trust added that the late Oluomo had accompanied the newly-elected winner of the House of Representatives for Ifedore/Idanre Federal Constituency, Festus Akingbaso, to receive a Certificate of Return from INEC.

“We had gathered at the collation centre awaiting to receive the certificate of return for our newly elected Honourable Akingbaso when the soldiers started chasing us away from the centre.

“We were driven to far distance from the collation centre in Owena. I guess the reason is to maintain orderliness and ensure maximum security but unknowingly Akinnaso was just coming to the venue in anticipation and also joining the waiting crowd to receive the certificate.

“But sadly as he approached the soldiers we noticed he fell and had been shot. By the time we rushed him down to the hospital he was confirmed dead by the doctors on duty,” a PDP supporter, identified as Yetunde, is said to have said.

Akinnaso’s corpse has since been deposited at a hospital morgue.

The police has said that it is however yet to get full details on what exactly happened.

Funmilayo Odunlami-Omisanya, the Police Public Relations Officer in Ondo State, however promised to release a statement in connection with the case immediately she gets it.

Festus Akingbaso had been declared the winner of the Ifedore/Idanre Federal Contituency after he defeated Tajudeen Adefisoye, the incumbent and member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), by a 24,263 votes to 20,064 votes margin.