You are here: HomeNews2023 06 13Article 663470

General News of Tuesday, 13 June 2023


Lawmakers-elect arrive 90 mins early for Inauguration of 10th National Assembly

The National Assembly The National Assembly

The 10th Assembly Senators and Members-elect reportedly arrived at the National Assembly complex on Tuesday at 6.30am today amidst tight security.

Eyewitness accounts revealed that the lawmakers were conveyed in four coaster buses through the Villa Gate while two others who were conveyed through SGF Gate were also escorted by security guards.

469 federal lawmakers will, today, elect four presiding officers of the 10th National Assembly.

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has issued a proclamation letter for the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly in line with the 1999 Constitution.

In the Red Chamber, 109 senators will pick The Senate president and deputy Senate president; while 360 House of Representatives members will elect the House Speaker and deputy speaker.

The race for the Senate presidency and speaker’s seat has been intense, with major contenders intensifying campaigns a few days to the inauguration.

The two contenders for the Senate Presidency are former governor of Akwa Ibom State, Senator Godswill Akpabio and former governor of Zamfara State, Abdulaziz Yari.

President Tinubu and the APC leadership have picked the duo of Akpabio and Senator Jibrin Barau (Kano North) as preferred candidates for Senate president and deputy, respectively.

Senator Orji Uzor Kalu from Abia State dropped his bid for the Senate presidency and formed an alliance with Yari to contest for the deputy Senate president’s position.