You are here: HomeNews2022 06 07Article 561278

General News of Tuesday, 7 June 2022


Lawan missing as Govs submit names of 5 presidential aspirants to Buhari

Some governors of the APC Some governors of the APC

Governors who are members of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) are reported to have submitted the names of five aspirants to President Muhammadu Buhari to select a consensus candidate.

According to the Daily Trust, the names were submitted by the governors in the early hours of Tuesday, June 7.

This was also re-echoed by Chairman of the Northern Governors' Forum and Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong in a chat with Channels TV's Sunrise Daily on Tuesday, June 7.

The names, according to the source, included that of the Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, former governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Governor Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti State), Rotimi Amaechi, former Minister of Transportation, and Governor Dave Umahi (Ebonyi State).

The governors had after meeting with the President said they will return to the villa after meeting with the party’s National Working Committee(NWC) and other stakeholders.

Read more: APC: Cabal planning 'MKO Abiola' treatment for you – Fayose says in open letter to Tinubu

“They picked one from South-East, one from South-South and three from South-West geopolitical zones in line with their position that power should shift to the South,” he said.

They expect the president to pick a candidate from the list.

The presidential primary of the party is scheduled on Tuesday, June 7(today).

There was chaos after Senate President, Ahmed Lawan was named as the consensus candiate by the party's national chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu. This was, however, punctured by the presidency.

Follow for all updates on the APC presidential primary from Eagle Square, Abuja.

Join our Newsletter!