You are here: HomeNews2022 06 08Article 561731

General News of Wednesday, 8 June 2022


LIVE UPDATES: Results and reactions

Ballot boxes at the Eagle Square in Abuja Ballot boxes at the Eagle Square in Abuja

Live updates from the ongoing congress of the ruling All Progress Congress (APC) at the Eagles Square in Abuja

Nigeria’s greatness begins now - Tinubu says after his win

The All Progressives Congress presidential candidate, Bola Tinubu, has said with his emergence as the ruling party flagbearer for the 2023 presidential election, the country’s “greatness begins now”.

The former Lagos State governor stated this on Wednesday while delivering his acceptance speech after winning the APC presidential primary at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

The PUNCH reports that Tinubu scored 1,271 votes to defeat his closest contenders, Rotimi Amaechi and Yemi Osinbajo.

Amaechi obtained 316 votes while Osinbajo polled 235.

But speaking after his victory, Tinubu said he had waited for the right moment to actualise his dream and serve the country in his best capacity, saying that with his emergence, the nation will begin to live to its potential.

“The journey has started a long time and now we are here. The country’s greatness begins now,” Tinubu said.

Nigerians react as Tinubu wins APC presidential ticket

Reactions have trailed the emergence of the former Lagos State Governor, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential ticket.

Tinubu defeated Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Minister of Transportation, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi and ten others to emerge as the APC Presidential candidate for the 2023 elections.

With Tinubu’s victory, he will square up against PDP’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, Labour Party’s Peter Obi and NNPP’s Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso to become the next leader of the country in 2023.

Following the development, some citizens have take to social media to react to Tinubu’s emergence as the APC standard bearer.

Mohammed Jammal said :"Tinubu should open a school of Politics for the youths. His strategy for the past 23 years is worth studying."

Fisayo Soyombo said:"How can any delegate listen to Yemi Osinbajo and Bola Tinubu tonight, and still go ahead to pick Tinubu? Politics aside, head to head, Tinubu shouldn't be winning any competency contest against Osinbajo.But this is politics. And, on top of it, this is Nigeria!"

CybersecSensei wrote: “The man is not Healthy… He will be another London Hospital case and a burden to the entire country. We can’t let that happen again after this colossal disaster that we have been managing. Kolework!”

AlexEbiwoe wrote: “In a sane society, person like Tinubu supposed dey home for the elderly, but then again we don’t live in a sane society.”

POOJA said:"Tinubu has invested in politics for YEARS, he has made kingsmen, he has made over COUNTLESS billionaires that have trickled down to communities, he has taken a backseat as well & now that he wants to achieve his ambition, he shouldn't? If na your papa, you will deny him of that."

Tinubu wins APC presidential ticket

Former Lagos Governor Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu has won the presidential ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

He polled 1,271 votes to defeat other aspirants at the party’s primary in Eagle Square, Abuja.

He defeated Rotimi Amaechi who scored 316 votes and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo who got 235.

He was declared winner of the contest by Kebbi Governor Abubakar Bagudu,who is chairman of the APC Election Management Committee.

He will square up with People Democratic People(PDP) presidential candidate Atiku Abubakar and others at the 2023 general elections.


Dave Umani – 38

Rotimi Amaechi – 316

Tunde Bakare - 0

Ahmed Sani - 4

Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo - 235

Yahaya Bello - 47

Mr Ogbonnaya Onu - 1

Senator Rochas Okorocha - 0

Senator Ahmed Lawan - 152

Ben Ayade – 27

Ikeobasi Mokelu- 0

Emeka Nwajuba-1

Tien Jack Rich-0

Asiwaju Bola Tinubu - 1,271

Invalid votes - 13

Buhari, Osinbajo, Tinubu, others return to APC convention venue

The President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), and his vice, Yemi Osinbajo, have returned to the venue of the ongoing national convention of the All Progressives Congress.

Also, the National leader of the All Progressives Congress, Bola Tinubu, and other top officials of the party have also returned to the venue.

The PUNCH had reported Tinubu had obtained over 50 per cent of the total votes cast in the ongoing presidential primary of the party in Abuja.

Tinubu currently leads with over 1149 votes after votes in 27th boxes were sorted.

His closest contenders, Rotimi Amaechi and Yemi Osinbajo, who got 238 and 177 votes respectively.

Tinubu extends lead after Box 17

Former Lagos Governor, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, is leading by a wide margin from results so far sorted in the ongoing All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential Primary at the Eagles Square, Abuja.

From the results so far from 17 out of 40 polling boxes, Tinubu has polled 1069 votes out of a total of 2, 203 accredited votes in the exercise.

None of the other contenders has close to 290 votes.

Tinubu in early lead

The National leader of the All Progressives Congress, Bola Tinubu, is leading in the ongoing presidential primary of the party in Abuja.

Tinubu won 10 of the 10 boxes sorted so far, obtaining over 750 votes.

He is trailed by former Governor of Rivers State, Rotimi Amaechi, and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

While Amaechi has obtained 143 votes, Osinbajo polled 103 so far.

A total of 2,260 delegates of the All Progressives Congress voted at the ongoing party’s Presidential Primary at Eagle Square, Abuja.

The total rundown of states and their respective accredited delegates are as follows:

Abia – 50; Adamawa- 62; Anambra- 63; Bayelsa- 24; Bauchi- 55; Benue- 64; Borno- 81; Cross River- 54; Delta- 73; Enugu- 51; Ekiti- 48; Edo- 54; Ebonyi- 38; FCT- 80.

Others are Gombe- 33; Imo- 81; Jigawa- 81; Lagos- 60; Plateau- 51; Katsina- 102; Kebbi- 63; Kwara- 48; Kogi- 63; Kaduna- 61; Kano- 126; Nasarawa- 39; Niger- 75; Ondo- 54; Ogun- 60; Oyo- 99; Osun- 90; Rivers- 69; Sokoto- 69; Taraba- 46; Yobe- 51 and Zamfara- 42.

Tinubu jumps into early lead as vote sorting begins

National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) is reported to be in an early lead to the claim the ticket of the party as sorting of ballots is currently ongoing at the Eagle Square this morning.

Pulse reports that the first ballot box which was counted had 90% of Tinubu votes.

Tinubu, who is one of the leading aspirants of the party secured the endorsement of 7 aspirants, who stepped down for him. Former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo follow closely.

Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State; Senator Godswill Akpabio; Professor Ajayi Borroffice; Mr Dimeji Bankole; Senator Ibikunle Amosun; Governor Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa; and Mrs Uju Ohanenye, the only female presidential aspirant of the party withdrew and urged their candidates to support the 69-year-old.

Sorting of votes begins - 8:08am

Voting has been concluded. All delegates from 35 States and FCT have voted - 7:40am

Join our Newsletter!