You are here: HomeNews2022 05 23Article 556715

General News of Monday, 23 May 2022


JUST IN: APC set new date to screen 28 presidential aspirants

The APC screening is scheduled for  Tuesday, May 24th, and Wednesday, May 25th The APC screening is scheduled for Tuesday, May 24th, and Wednesday, May 25th

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has fixed a new date for the screening of its presidential aspirants for the 2023 general elections.

This was made public by Suleiman Argungu, National Organising Secretary of the party in Abuja on Monday, May 23 (today).

All 28 aspirants of the party who obtained forms will now be screened on Tuesday, May 24th, and Wednesday, May 25th at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel Abuja.

Recall, the party has earlier announced it had postponed the screening of the aspirant indefinitely on

The National Publicity Secretary of the party, Felix Morka early on announced the screening of its presidential aspirants indefinitely in a statement dated Sunday, May 22, 2022.

The party stated this in a statement titled ‘Notice of Postponement of APC Presidential Screening Exercise,’ dated May 22, 2022, and signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Felix Morka.

“The Screening Exercise for Presidential Aspirants of the All Progressives Congress (APC) earlier scheduled to be held on Monday, May 23rd, 2022 is hereby postponed. A new date for the exercise will be announced shortly.

“Any inconvenience caused is deeply regretted,” it had said.

SaharaReporters had reported how the party earlier postponed the screening exercise from May 14 and 15 to May 23 to allow former President Goodluck Jonathan and others to submit their nomination forms after the deadline.

A party source had told SaharaReporters that the previous postponement was done to allow Jonathan to submit his nomination and expression of interest forms.

The ruling party’s aspirants also include Vice President Yemi Osibanjo; APC National Leader, Bola Tinubu; ex-Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Minister of Niger Delta Development, Sen. Godswill Akpabio; former Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba; and Jigawa State Governor, Mohammed Badaru.

Others include Ebonyi State Governor, Dave Umahi; Ekiti State Governor, Kayode Fayemi; and Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello.

Join our Newsletter!