You are here: HomeNews2023 11 13Article 710345

General News of Monday, 13 November 2023


INEC finally declares gov Diri as winner of Bayelsa governorship election

Governor Douye Diri Governor Douye Diri

Governor Douye Diri of Bayelsa state has been declared winner of the Bayelsa state governorship election held on Saturday, November 11, by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The governor and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the election was declared the winner of the poll by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) of INEC, Obo Effanga, after garnering 175,196 votes as monitored by on Channels Television.

Diri was trailed by to Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who scored 110,108 votes and Udengs Eradiri of the Labour Party, who got 905 votes.

Who is Diri, re-elected PDP governor of Bayelsa?

Governor Diri, who became the governor of the state through the Supreme Court ruling in 2019, has defeated Sylva, a former governor of the state and ex-minister of petroleum in the country, in his re-election bid.

The Supreme Court sacked the 2019 winner of the poll, David Lyon, after his deputy was found guilty of certificate forgery.

The PDP governor was already serving in the senate before the apex court delivered the verdict that nullified the candidature of Lyon and his deputy few days to their inauguration.