You are here: HomeNews2023 03 20Article 638969

General News of Monday, 20 March 2023


INEC declares APC’s Sanwo-Olu winner of Lagos 2023 governorship election after final collation of results

Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour and Babajide Sanwo-Olu Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour and Babajide Sanwo-Olu

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as the winner of the 2023 governorship election in Lagos state.

Sanwo-Olu was announced the winner of the election around 1am on Monday, March 20. The returning officer, Professor Oladiji Adenike, announced that Sanwo-Olu polled 762,134 votes to win the election.

Rhodes-Vivour of the LP came second with 312,329 votes, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)'s Jando trailed in third place with 62,449 votes.

A total of 1,182,620 voters were accredited, while 1,155,678 votes were valid.