You are here: HomeNews2023 11 12Article 709985

General News of Sunday, 12 November 2023


Dino Melaye loses LGA to APC's Ododo in Kogi governorship election

Dino Melaye, PDP Kogi governorship candidate and Ahmed Usman Ododo Dino Melaye, PDP Kogi governorship candidate and Ahmed Usman Ododo

Former senator and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Dino Melaye, has been defeated in his polling unit.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate in the Saturday, November 11 election, Ahmed Usman Ododo massively defeated Melaye and Muritala Ajaka of the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

The results collated from the IRev’s portal of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Saturday, showed that Ododo won by landslide with 10,524 votes while Melaye got 6,909 votes and Ajaka of the SDP scored 356 votes.

This is the breakdown of the results below as compiled by The Cable:

Usman Ododo, the candidate of the APC, won in Melaye's LGA. Registered voters: 66,482 Accredited voters: 20,405

ADC: 1,898

APC: 10,524

PDP: 6,909

SDP: 356

Valid votes: 19,991

Rejected votes: 348

Total votes cast: 20,375

It was reported earlier that, Usman Ododo, has won the Okehi Local government area with a landslide margin.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Ododo the winner after clinching 53,062 votes.

While Senator Dino Melaye of the PDP got 2,722 and Social Democratic Party (SDP) Murtala Ajaka polled 153.

Okehi is in Kogi Central senatorial district, the zone of the APC candidate and incumbent governor, Yahaya Bello. Labour Party's governor.