You are here: HomeNews2023 03 19Article 638591

General News of Sunday, 19 March 2023


Buhari, Tinubu, Sanwo-Olu, Makinde, El-Rufai, AbdulRazaq win polling units

Image used to illustrate story Image used to illustrate story

THE National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Abdullahi Adamu, and the governorship candidate of the Labour Party in Lagos State, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour lost their polling units in Saturday’s governorship and state House of Assembly elections.

Adamu, who hails from Keffi Local Government Area in Nasarawa State, lost to the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, David Ombugadu at his GRA (A1) – PB 010 polling unit.

According to the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission Presiding Officer, Okoh Everest, the PDP candidate polled 158 votes to defeat the state Governor, Abdullahi Sule, who scored 129 votes, while the Social Democratic Party’s candidate garnered one vote.

Recall that the APC national chairman also lost his polling unit in the February 25, 2023 presidential and National Assembly elections to the LP.

The situation was, however, different in Katsina and Lagos states as the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), and the incumbent governor of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, won their various polling units.

The results announced by the collation officer for the President’s polling unit, Hamza Yusuf, showed that for the governorship election, the APC scored 261 votes, while the PDP got 32 votes.

Similarly, the APC scored 240 votes in the State House of Assembly election, while PDP scored 50 votes.

In Lagos, Rhodes-Vivour polled 18 votes in his polling unit, while Sanwo-Olu won with 29 votes in the LP candidate’s polling unit.

Another contestant in the governorship election, PDP’s Olajide Adeniran, also known as Jandor, polled two votes in Rhodes-Vivour’s unit.

In the House of Assembly election at the polling unit, the APC polled 34, the LP 15, while the PDP polled one vote.

For the House of Assemblies election, APC polled 43; LP, 5; and APGA, 1 vote.

Jandor wins unit

But Adediran defeated his closest rivals, Sanwo-Olu and Rhodes-Vivour of the LP in his polling unit in Osolu Junior High School, Unit 001, Ward G in Irewe, Ojo Local Government Area of the state.

Adediran polled 79 votes while Sanwo-Olu secured 66 votes. Rhodes-Vivour, however, got one vote.

In the House of Assembly election, PDP polled 81 votes against 76 polled by the APC, as the LP scored a single vote.

In Oyo State, Governor, Seyi Makinde of the PDP won his polling unit with 174 votes to beat the APC which polled 28 votes.

For the House of Assembly poll, the PDP scored 160 votes while APC scored 30 in the governor’s polling unit.

Sanwo-Olu wins Tinubu’s unit

Meanwhile, Governor Sanwo-Olu of the APC won the polling unit of the president-elect, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.

Announcing the results of Polling Unit 085, Ward 3, Alausa, Ikeja, Lagos, the Assistant Presiding Officer III of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Adebola Adebiyi, the APC candidate polled 43 votes, while his closest contender, the LP candidate, Rhodes-Vivour, had five votes.

In Ogun State, the incumbent Governor Dapo Abiodun won his polling unit.

Abiodun, who is the governorship candidate of the APC, polled 147 votes to defeat the PDP, which got 142 votes.

Also, a former speaker of House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole, delivered two polling units for Governor Abiodun.

Meanwhile, the governorship candidate of the PDP in Plateau State, Caleb Mutfwang, won the governorship poll in Manji Pam Eze Street polling unit 055 in Jos South LGA of the state with a total of 20 votes.

From the result declared by the INEC Presiding Officer, Musa Yusuf, after counting the votes scored by parties on Saturday, the governorship candidate of the APC, Nentawe Yilwatda, scored 11 votes, while the candidate of the LP, Patrick Dakum, came third with four votes.

For the state House of Assembly elections, the PDP scored 20 votes while the APC scored 10 votes. The LP scored five votes.

In Delta State, the Minister of State for Labour and chief spokesman for the APC Presidential Campaign Council, Festus Keyamo, delivered his Polling Unit 17, Ward 2 in Uvwie LGA for his party’s governorship candidate, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege.

In the governorship contest, APC polled 32 to defeat the PDP and the LP which garnered 19 and 10 votes respectively.