You are here: HomeNews2023 03 01Article 633758

General News of Wednesday, 1 March 2023


All senatorial seats won by the Labour Party

Senatorial candidates of the Labour Party Senatorial candidates of the Labour Party

The Labour Party performed beyond the expectation of many in the just-ended Presidential and National Assembly elections.

With the presidential candidate of the Labour Party gaining an organic following before the election, it definitely worked for him and other persons who contested on the ticket of the party.

Peter Obi's victory in Lagos State, FCT and 10 other states signalled the start of a new generation of politicians in Nigeria.

Obi's success ensured the party won some Senatorial seats in the Upper House.

In Edo State, LP’s Neda Imasuen won the Edo South Senatorial District seat. Imasuen polled 167,250 votes, while his closest rival, Matthew Iduoriyekemwen of the PDP garnered 61,749.

LP’s Darlington Nwokocha, scored 92,116 to defeat a former National Organising Secretary of the PDP, Austin Akobundu, who polled 41,477.

In Enugu State, the LP’s Okey Ezea defeated Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi in the Enugu North Senatorial District election.