You are here: HomeNews2023 06 06Article 661325

Politics of Tuesday, 6 June 2023


Abass, Kalu: APC reveals preferred candidate for 10th NASS leadership despite G6 resistance

The photo used to illustrate the story The photo used to illustrate the story

The speakership bid of Dr. Tajudeen Abass has yet again received a major boost.

This is as the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has thrown its weight behind Abass's candidature and deputy candidate, Honourable Benjamin Kalu despite stiff resistance by his fellow contestants led by the outgoing Deputy Speaker of the House, Ahmed Wase.

Wase, alongside Muktar Aliyu Betara, Yusuf Adamu Gagdi, Sada Soli and Miriam Onuoha have cried foul over the decision by the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to throw their weights behind the aspiration of Abass and Kalu, to preside over the affairs of the House, The Guardian reported.

With less than two weeks to the inauguration of the 10th National Assembly (NASS), it’s unlikely that the Senator Abdullahi Adamu-led National Working Committee (NWC) would review its stance on the sharing of principal office positions of the NASS.

APC’s national publicity secretary, Felix Morka, explained that the party position remains sacrosanct, at least for now pending the outcome of the consultative meetings between the aggrieved aspirants and critical stakeholders of the party from across the country.

An emerging report has confirmed that Senator Abdulaziz Yari's visit to Daura, Katsina state, to seek the blessings of ex-President Muhammadu Buhari for his Senate presidential ambition was successful.

Recall that several reports had earlier disclosed that the ex-President refused to give his blessings urging Yari to respect the dictate and decision of the All Progressive Congress (APC), who had already declared Senator Godswill Akpabio as the party's preferred candidate.

Meanwhile, it was gathered that the ex-President warmly received Yari shortly after a series of Senator-elect of the incoming 10th National Assembly endorsed him.