You are here: HomeNews2023 03 01Article 633677

General News of Wednesday, 1 March 2023


APC wins 49 seats in the Senate, maintains dominance

Nigeria's Senate Nigeria's Senate

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) maintained its dominance in the Senate after securing 49 seats.

Out of the 89 states, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won 28 seats, Labour Party won six while the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and Social Democratic Party (SDP) secured two seats each.

These are the results of the parliamentary polls so far released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Young Progressive Party (YPP) and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) have so far produced one senator each.

With 49 senators, the ruling party is set to maintain a majority in the 10th Senate. There are 109 seats in the Red Chamber, made up of three seats per state and one for FCT.

A party with a simple majority produces presiding officers called the President of the Senate and Deputy Senate President.